Meta Writing in ENG 3700

meta 1.jpg

Picture Credit

In class, we anonymously wrote down our feeling towards the meta writing in ENG 3700 so far and our expectation for the latter half of the semester on a piece of the flashcard. I was very excited and curious about my peers’ thoughts.

By looking at the flashcards, I immediately noticed that people write in different forms. There are some people who wrote in regular sentences, some did in bullet points, and some in short phrases. I really appreciate the respect that Dr. Geller gave us because I can tell when Dr. Geller is typing these answers out, she tried to use the exact signs and marks that we used.

meta 2.jpg

Picture Credit

One of the Ideas that most of the class agree were freedom and non-judgemental. These are something we enjoyed in ENG 3700 and it is hard to find in anywhere else at least for academic writing. In most of my classes, my professors give detailed instructions for each and every paper and we suppose to follow what was required in order to get a good grade. The in class reflection we had for meta writing in ENG 3700 inspired me a lot. In a way, professors giving instructions for writings is because they do not trust their students enough. They believe without their instructions, students cannot write a good paper and cannot meet his/her expectations. On the contrary, the great amount of freedom that we received and the non-judgemental writing environment that we have represent the trust given by our professor. The freeness and non-judgemental environment built in ENG 3700 class eventually allow us to write something deeply from our heart and anything that we really enjoy writing about. Speaking of freedom, I find that the idea of freedom and non-judgemental not only embodied in the writings that we have done for ENG 3700 but is in ENG 3700 in general. I feel very comfortable when I am in class because everyone’s opinion is valued and respected. Thus, it strongly encourages me to share my opinions and exchange thoughts and ideas with my peers.

Furthermore, for the latter half of the semester, I wish that the writing in ENG 3700 is the same as we already have and to add some fun elements such as trying different formats, forms and trying out something challenging. I noticed that someone wrote “I don’t know” on their flashcard for the latter half of the semester. I kind of agree with this because I don’t know what writings and readings that we will be doing but I am excited for them.

Leave a comment