Blog About What? And What’s the Standard?

Office desk with notebook computer and wording Blog.Top View table from above with copy space

Picture Credit

To be very honest, I waited a long time before I start to write my blogs. The only reason was I don’t know what topics should I write about and what to expect. Usually, my writing in school is designed by the instructors. The instructors provided me with topics to choose from, rules to follow, and sometimes even structures. Therefore, I was trained to follow directions given by my teachers and professors. I kept blogs for other courses but I was instructed to write specific things for each blog post. Whenever there is a writing assignment, I tend to go and look for instructions subconsciously. Nevertheless, there are no specific instructions given for blogs in this course so I started to question. What should I blog about?

Two of the most helpful discussions that we had in class was the midterm reflection and the quick talk about blogs. During the quick talks, I understand that we should not just focus on the readings and the discussion we had in class. It is necessary for us to connect what we have learned to everything else. It could be something we learned from another class, a piece of news from this morning, something happen on a daily basis, a random conversation with friends… During the midterm reflection, I learned that this course is trying to create a community that everyone feels comfortable writing.

blog2.jpeg

Picture Credit

Right after these discussions, my first thought was I appreciate the freedom and the complete control we have for blogs. I was able to blog about the things I really want to express and some interesting stuff. The freedom and opportunity that is not possible for other classes. For my other classes, I used to be scared if the professor does not provide instructions on what to write because I will have a blank page in front of me for days. Now, I am excited about the blank pages in front of me because that means I can write whatever I desire. Therefore, there should not be struggling with what to write on blog posts.

Moreover, subconsciously seeking instructions given by the professor is an expression and a desire for meeting the standard. But who set the standards? Why there are standards? According to Merriam-Webster, standard is defined as “a level of quality, achievement, etc., that is considered acceptable or desirable.” We have been told ever since we were little to meet all kinds of standards from behaviors to academic achievements. However, we have never thought about whether these standards are good fits for us or not.

blog3.jpg

Picture Credit

I still remember that one day a gentleman walked in our classroom and asked: “is there a class going on?” This is probably the simplest example of what I am talking about. In his mind, our class did not meet the standard of class that he had in mind. Possibly his standard of a class is definitely not like everyone sits in a circle and talks. Again, just because our class does not look like the “standard class”, are we not having class? Talking about standard, it also reminds me about standardized testing. Are they good? Are they fair for everyone?

Another book that I would recommend checking out is called The End of Average by Todd Rose. 

In a similar way, writing standards such as grammar, structure are essential but are not everything in writing. In addition, receiving feedback from my peers is very encouraging for me to write more interesting and thoughtful blogs. Getting advice from Dr. Geller always help me to think deeper and play with different forms of expressing.

Leave a comment